if you dont leave the house…

If you don’t leave the house, things don’t happen…

I take a walk on Sunday evening…out of the orphanage and towards the nearest village, down the road i bump into Mounika, an ex student, now in college who lives near the orphanage. While chatting to her i photograph these to Bhavani Deekshas who are training an ox to pull a cart:

IMG_1063

I walk down to the river and this slithers past me and into the water…

IMG_1071

10 minutes later 3 guys passing by on bicycles stop and ask me something in Telegu. I know a little of the language but i cant understand what they are saying.

IMG_1084

…then this young man appears and he speaks a little English and between us i realise they are the Deekshas i photographed earlier, they want to see the picture i took of them on the cart. I promise to give them a copy before i leave…

IMG_1091

Turns out the guy who helps me is the brother of Jancy, whom i know as she attends the school where i teach…

Janci knows i come to this spot regularly to photograph the troop of monkeys who come to the water at twilight.

IMG_1131

Janci’s mum tells me to come into their garden, she puts down some rice and monkeys appear from everywhere…

IMG_1148 IMG_1155

Its like i said, if you don’t leave the house, things don’t happen…

Leave a comment